Annual Push Competition

  • Posted on: 24 September 2020
  • By: Alberta Bobsleigh

We held our 34th annual push competition on Sunday September 20th. Great to see so many athletes out from all levels of the sport. Winners of the women's competition were National team members Christine de Bruin and Janine McCue. Jess Hansen and Eden Wilson were a close second, with Emily Picket and Erica Voss capturing third place. On the men's side Taylor Austin and his brakeman Mark Mlakar out pushed a strong field. Derek van den Brink teamed up with Lascelles (King) Brown for a solid second place just squeezing ahead of Fabio Silva and Davidson Souza.

Annual General Meeting & BBQ

  • Posted on: 24 August 2020
  • By: Alberta Bobsleigh

Join us on September 20th, directly following the ABA Push Competition (at approximately 4:30pm) for our Annual General Meeting and BBQ. This will be held at the ABA sled shed, near the finish dock. More info will be sent via email to all members.

World Championships 2020

  • Posted on: 23 February 2020
  • By: Alberta Bobsleigh

Congratulations to Alberta athlete Christine de Bruin for piloting her Canadian sled to a bronze medal position in World Championships. Joining Christine was the powerhouse brakewoman Kristen Bujnowski, The pair put in 4 solid runs to stand on the World Championship podium at the very demanding Altenberg Germany track. They also finished ahead of top German hometown favourites! Alberta Bobsleigh is proud to be part of your journey.

Alberta Provincial Championships

  • Posted on: 2 March 2019
  • By: Alberta Bobsleigh

What a great day! Our provincial championships was held in -21 degree weather, but the sizeable crowd kept the athletes pumped and ready to push. Thank you everyone for braving the cold to support the athletes. It was a very close race for first place in the men's category. Derek van den Brink and Nick Martin were just edged out by the mixed team of Jess Hansen and Zack McEachern. In third place was the team of Rolandu Isidro and Jerby Deriada. The women's division was won by Taylor Rooke and Emily Pickett. Congratulations to all of our competitors, and thank you for a great season.

ABA Cup #3 consistency race

  • Posted on: 30 January 2019
  • By: Alberta Bobsleigh

Tonight was the third race of the Alberta Cup series. We were going for consistency in this one. The first place team of Heath Spence and Chase Osiowy had only .11 of a second between the first and second runs. Second place was Taylor Rooke and Emily Pickett with .22 between the runs. Derek van den Brink and Nick Martin took third with a difference of .35 seconds. Thanks everyone for making it a fun event.